top of page
Search

Some Good (Actor Mommy) Reads

Updated: Sep 14, 2022

I love a good off the cuff, silly and slightly self-deprecating read from any actor but especially from these Actor Mommies. If you get a chance, find the audio book, it makes all the difference!


Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

I will happily read and listen to anything Mindy Kaling says. She is hilarious and inspiring, she has worked on and created hit shows and the most impressive...having two children and I still do not know who the father is! Believe me, I have gone on quite a few deep dives to figure it out.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Another funny lady who has created and starred in a plethura of hit shows. Actor Mommies if you aren't booking the work you want...make your own. Some insight from Tina Fey may inspire you or give you a leg up on your next project.


Bossypants by Tina Fey
Click to purchase your copy from a local bookstore!

Dear Girls by Ali Wong

Just putting on an hour stand up show decked out in full cheetah print and 8 months pregnant...no big deal! Also, if you haven't seen Always Be My Maybe, watch it right now!


Survival of the Thickest by Michelle Buteau

This comedian and actress has stolen my heart. I originally saw her on an episode of 2 Dope Queens and have social media stalked her ever since. You can also see her in Always Be My Maybe!


Yes Please by Amy Poehler

She isn't a regular mom, she's a cool mom. This is now my life motto and I have already earned the rock solid boobs. #clogs #ifykyk




The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide by Jenna Fischer

In this book, she dedicates this book to the newbie actor and wants it to be the mentor she wished she had when she first started out. I think it's a great read for anyone at any point in their career; whether you need some inspiration, guidance or just a refresher.



We're Going to Need More Wine by Gabrielle Union

From her strong roles to the way she is nurturing and advocating for her children, Gabrielle Union is Actor Mommy goals. She is honest and vulnerable, outspoken and a kind of strong that I think a lot of us hope we can be in our personal lives and in our careers.


Around the Way Girl by Taraji P. Henson

Taraji has been an Inso-mommy of the week on the Actor Mommy podcast and her SAG Award acceptance speech has been sent to me more times than I count, especially when I became pregnant. She moved to LA with $600 and a baby on her hip. She paid and paved her way to create some iconic roles all while struggling with the actor/mommy "balance."




What are your favorite actor mommy books? Leave your answer in the comments!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NEVER MISS A THING

  • YouTube
  • Snapchat
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
I'D LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU

For Bookings

© 2023 by Ashley. Proudly created with Wix.com

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page